“Milboy’s Army” Goes for 19 In a Row

Simpson will host the 2011 Iowa Conference Wrestling championships on Friday. Will "Milboy's Army" win their 19th straight title?


One individual squaring off against another individual.  Your goal is to win your match.  You are not just wrestling for yourself…but for the team as well.

Between the high school wrestling championships and Iowa and ISU battling for the Division I-A championships next month, did you know that a less-publicized conference tournament will take place today?

And that you can watch the championships live on IPTV at 7pm tonight?

Did you know there is a team that has won 150 consecutive conference dual meets and has won 18 straight IIAC championships?

The last time that someone else other than this school has won a conference wrestling tournament title, everyone’s friend Paul Yeager and I were juniors…in high school…in 1992.

If I’m tossing those facts out, then it must be time for the annual Iowa Conference Wrestling Championships.

The quest for 19 in a row will be the goal for the Wartburg Knights starting Friday morning at Simpson College’s Cowles Center.  Coach Jim Miller and his squad (aka “Milboy’s Army”) have dominated the league in a way that is hard to describe.  I don’t think any team will match what they have done since 1993.

Wartburg's Jim Miller knows that the IIAC tournament is no picnic in the park. (Rick Chase/Courier)

Three questions will be answered around 9:30 p.m.  tonight:  

“Will Wartburg win its 19th in a row?”

“How much will they win by?”

“Will the entire team qualify for the national tournament next month?”

If Mother Nature doesn’t put too much of a crimp in the weather, I’ll be at the Cowles today to watch the tournament.  I won’t promise you updates consistently (I don’t want to drain out the battery of my Droid), but I will direct you towards the IIAC website to follow the updates.

I’m sure to see Paul Yeager there.  He’s working the tournament for IPTV today.  I regret to inform you he will not be calling the matches with Dan Gable and Tim Johnson, but if you have a winter hat, keep it on during the tournament.  Paul’s been doing a series of “hat parades” on his blog during this winter season.  You could be profiled in his next post!

What: Iowa Conference Wrestling Championships

Where: Cowles Center at Simpson College, Indianola

Who: teams in the Iowa Conference (Buena Vista, Central, Coe, Cornell, Dubuque, Loras, Luther, Simpson, Wartburg)

Time: 10:30 am; championship round begins at 7:00 pm

At stake: Team championship, and individual champions and runner-ups in each class qualifies for the Division III Wrestling Championships in LaCrosse, Wisconsin.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s